India and the NSG

I am in the USA on holidays. I heard of Pratap Bhanu Mehta’s piece in ‘Indian Express’ on India’s abortive bid to join the Nuclear Supplies Group (NSG). Had not read it until a friend sent me the link.

He had also sent me the link to a response by Rajesh Rajagopalan of the Observer Research Foundation (ORF) to PBM’s piece. I found Rajesh Rajagopalan’s piece more persuasive.

It is one thing to have a friend inside who would block rules that go against u but another thing to  be able to influence how rules are framed and to actively engineer them for our benefit. The latter is worth trying.

Second, I agree that China does try to balance India.

Third, I do agree with RR that the situation in the world is as such that India identifying itself more actively and explicitly with the US is the right thing to do.

 

One thought on “India and the NSG

Leave a Reply

